Upper secondary education

Upper secondary education is not mandatory and lasts for two final years, the11th  and 12th forms. It is provided by gymnasiums, as well as vocational schools, in combination with vocational training programme.

Upper secondary education curriculum is approved by the Ministry of Education, Science and Sport. It includes 8 subject groups, at least one subject from each group is compulsory to pupils. School may also offer additional optional courses and modules. The implementation of National Curriculum is regulated by the General Education Plan approved by the Minister. It outlines the scope, time and main principles of curriculum implementation.

Lithuanian is the language of instruction in most schools except for national minority schools, where language of instruction is that of the national minority - Belarusian, Polish, Russian or German. In some national minority schools bilingual education is implemented.

At the end of upper secondary education, pupils are required to take matriculation examinations. The Lithuanian language examination is compulsory for all pupils. At least two matriculation examinations or one examination and matriculation project should be passed, in order to be awarded the secondary education diploma.  To access higher education at least three matriculation examinations are necessary.

Last updated: 18-11-2023